top of page

History of AIRSS 

Note: this page is under construction. If you notice any errors, missing information, etc., please email Thank you for helping us document a complete history of the Association!

AIRSS was established in the early 1980’s, Chartered in 1987, merged LOCON in 1994 as an affiliate, and restructured in 2014 to focus on grassroots advocacy, policy and legislation oversight.

April 27, 2007

Attend NREA Convention KC. Missouri

Retiring Board members Dr. Fran Karanovich and Dr. Robert Hall

Robert Rogers Exec. Dir


October 23, 2008

2006-2008 Officers Gary DePatis President, Steve Graham VP, Steve Breckon Secretary

Elected for 2008-10 Steve Graham President, Mike Davis VP, Steve Breckon Secretary

Exec. Dir. Bob Rogers will retire June 30, 2009

Attended the NREA Conv. San Antonio, TX.


April 1, 2009

Dr. Steve Breckon hired as Executive Dir. effective July 1, 2009

Dr. Vicki Van Tuyle new board member of NREAC 2008-09

Attended the 101st NREA convention Cincinnati Ohio

Executive Director Succession

Dave Ardrey hired March 2014 – June 1, 2023

Steve Breckon July 1, 2009 – 2014 retires

Bob Rogers 2001 – retires June 30, 2009

Dr. Frank Sorenson 1982 – 2001 retirement

President Succession

Dr. Jennifer Garrison 2023 – 2024

Mr. Edwin Shoemate 2018 – 2022

Dr. Patrick M. Twomey 2014 - 2017

Dr. Steve Webb 2013- 2014

Dr. Steve Graham 2009-2010

Dr. Gary DePatis 2007-2008

Ralph Marshall 2005-2006

Sheri Marshal April 25,2005

Kathy Hanneken 2003-2004

Past Board Members

Mr. Gary DePatis

Dr. Mike Curry

Mary Parker

Dr. Sandra Watkins

Dr. Vicki Van Tuyle

Dr. Steve Breckon

Jamie Dorsey

Steve Graham

Yvonne Buttock

Lynn Hartweger

Dr. Robert Hall

Bob Kidd

Jess House

Kathy Hanneken

Barb Woolam

Dr. Francis Karanovich

Don Kording

Bill James

Michael Barry

Bill Steichmann

Bob Trover

Ralph Grimm

Jane Michael

Dr. Jess House

Shari L. Marshal

Mike Davies

Mike Bartlett

Dr. Ralph Marshall

Dour Foster

Larry Bequaith

Alene Reuschel

bottom of page